Horu Trophy Curling Turnier 2021

The health of our guests and staff is our top priority. Our protection concepts are constantly adapted to the latest information and directives of the federal government. With the following measures, we guarantee that you can spend a carefree holiday:

We thank you for your understanding and support!

Information on the measures taken by the mountain railways can be found at https://www.matterhornparadise.ch/iSite/Corona-Schutzkonzept

The following links are helpful for all our guests from abroad:

Check the validity of your certificate in Switzerland here:
https://travelcheck.admin.ch/home
Convert your Covid-19 certificate to a Swiss certificate here: Covidcertificate-form.admin.ch
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Horu Trophy Curling Turnier 2021

14 January - 17 January

$20

Every third weekend in January, over 300 curling players travel to Zermatt. They meet for the Horu Trophy, one of the largest open-air curling tournaments in Europe.

Curling is not only a game of skill, but also a game in which tactics play an important role. That is why curling is also known as “chess on ice”. The word curling comes from the Old English and comes from “curl”, turn – because the stone turns on the ice after letting go.

Great Tradition

The curling game originated in the Middle Ages in Scotland. From Scotland it has spread to England, USA, Canada and also to mainland Europe. Curling is very popular in Switzerland. Both Swiss women and men have gained international acclaim. For example Patrick Hürlimann, Luzia Ebnöther, Mirjam Ott and Binia Feltscher. Many Swiss curling stars have already taken part in the Horu Trophy in Zermatt.

The first Horu Trophy was held in 1992. “Horu” comes from the local dialect and means horn. Horu is how the locals affectionately describe their all-dominant mountain, the Matterhorn. The mountain can be seen from the ice fields in the village centre.

As usual, the Horu Trophy is played in teams of four. For capacity reasons, a maximum of 76 team starting places can be allocated on the two Zermatt ice fields on 19 rinks. For years teams unfortunately have to be rejected, because the interest for the tournament is very big. The number of participants is therefore usually 304. Around 35 percent of the participants are women. Most of the players come from German-speaking Switzerland. But Scots and other nations are also honoured.

Loyal participants

When it comes to welcoming the teams, it’s obvious that you’ve known each other for a long time. Because many teams – including many locals – take part in the tournament every year. Although fun and games also count, the technical and tactical level of those teams that are regularly among the winners is extremely high.
But to make sure it is really cosy, a Zermatt Ländler formation plays on Saturday for barbecue fun. The cosy get-together is also one of the highlights for many.

Curling – at home in Zermatt for a long time now

A long tradition connects Zermatt with curling. Through the guests from the traditional curling nations who spent their holidays in Zermatt, the sport reached the locals and spread among the guests, so that it enjoyed great popularity within a very short time. A curling hall was built in 1979. Since the closure of this hall in 1998, only outdoor games were played. The Curling Club Zermatt CCZ was founded in 1933. It carries out the tournament in each case.

Spectators welcome

The Horu Trophy also fascinates spectators. Some like to watch the tactics of the star players. The central ice field, where the finals will be held, is located in a kind of rectangular arena. The spectators stand elevated on a grandstand and can watch from a clearly arranged position. Admission for spectators is free.

Details

Start:
14 January
End:
17 January
Cost:
$20
Event Category:
Website:
www.marvelmovies.com

Horu Trophy Curling Turnier 2021

La santé de nos hôtes et de nos employés est notre priorité absolue. Nos concepts de protection sont constamment adaptés aux dernières connaissances et directives de la Confédération. Avec les mesures suivantes, nous garantissons que vous pouvez passer des vacances sans souci :

Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension et de votre soutien !

Vous trouverez des informations sur les mesures prises par les remontées mécaniques sur le site https://www.matterhornparadise.ch/iSite/Corona-Schutzkonzept

Les liens suivants sont utiles pour tous nos clients venant de l'étranger :

Vérifiez ici la validité de votre certificat en Suisse :
https://travelcheck.admin.ch/home
Convertissez ici votre certificat Covid-19 en un certificat suisse : Covidcertificate-form.admin.ch
Si vous avez d'autres questions, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Chargement Évènements

« Tous les Évènements

  • Cet évènement est passé

Horu Trophy Curling Turnier 2021

14 janvier - 17 janvier

$20

Chaque troisième week-end de janvier, plus de 300 joueurs de curling se rendent à Zermatt. Ils se rencontrent au Horu Trophy, l’un des plus grands tournois de plein air en Europe.

Le curling n’est pas seulement un jeu d’adresse, mais également un jeu dans lequel les tactiques jouent un rôle important. C’est pourquoi le curling est également considéré comme un échec sur glace. Le mot curling vient du vieil anglais et vient de « curl », parce que la pierre tourne après avoir laissé aller sur la glace.

Grande tradition

Le jeu de curling est né au Moyen Age en Ecosse. De l’Ecosse, il s’est répandu dans les pays suivants: Angleterre, Etats-Unis, Canada et aussi en Europe continentale. Le curling est très populaire en Suisse. Les femmes et les hommes suisses ont remporté des prix internationaux. Par exemple Patrick Hürlimann, Luzia Ebnöther, Mirjam Ott et Binia Feltscher. De nombreuses stars suisses du curling ont déjà participé au trophée Horu à Zermatt.

Le premier trophée Horu a eu lieu en 1992. « Horu » vient du dialecte local et signifie corne. Horu, afin que les habitants désignent affectueusement leur montagne dominante, le Cervin. De la banquise dans le centre du village de la montagne se voit mieux.

Comme d’habitude, le trophée Horu se joue en équipes de quatre. Pour des raisons de capacité, 76 positions de départ d’équipes au maximum peuvent être attribuées sur les deux champs de glace de Zermatt sur 19 patinoires. Pendant des années, les équipes doivent malheureusement être licenciées, car l’intérêt pour le tournoi est très important. Ainsi, le nombre de participants est généralement de 304 personnes. Environ 35% des participants sont des femmes. La plupart des joueurs viennent de Suisse alémanique. Mais les écossais et les autres nations sont également honorés.

Participants fidèles
En saluant les scènes des équipes, on peut voir que l’on se connaît depuis longtemps. Parce que de nombreuses équipes – y compris de nombreux locaux – participent au tournoi chaque année. Bien que l’amusement et les jeux comptent aussi, le niveau de compétence de ces équipes qui font régulièrement partie des gagnants est hautement technique et tactique.
Une formation Zermatt Ländler se joue samedi pour un barbecue. La réunion chaleureuse est également l’un des points forts pour beaucoup.

Curling – une maison de longue date à Zermatt

Zermatt a une longue tradition de curling. Les invités des pays de curling traditionnels qui ont passé leurs vacances à Zermatt, le sport est venu parmi les habitants et se sont répandus parmi les invités, alors il a connu une grande popularité en peu de temps. En 1979, une salle de curling a été construite. Depuis la fermeture de cette salle en 1998, les gens ne jouent qu’à l’extérieur. Le club de curling Zermatt CCZ a été fondé en 1933. Il dirige le tournoi.

Les téléspectateurs sont les bienvenus

Le trophée Horu captive également les spectateurs. Parce que certaines personnes aiment regarder les tactiques des joueurs vedettes. Le champ de glace central, où se tiennent les finales, est situé dans une sorte d’arène rectangulaire. Les spectateurs se tiennent debout dans une tribune et peuvent regarder depuis une position claire. L’entrée pour les spectateurs est gratuite.

Détails

Début :
14 janvier
Fin :
17 janvier
Prix :
$20
Catégorie d’Évènement:
Site Web :
www.marvelmovies.com